Call for nominations - Raif Badawi Award 2020

Who will receive the award this year?
Raif Badawi Award 2020

The Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom continues its worldwide commitment to independent journalism. Together with the German Publishers & Booksellers Association, we will be presenting the Raif Badawi Award for courageous journalists at the Frankfurt Book Fair this year again.

We focus in particular on the endangered situation of media professionals in the Arab world and Islamic societies, thereby keeping the fate of the imprisoned liberal Saudi blogger Raif Badawi alive.

Raif Badawi was sentenced to ten years in prison and 1,000 lashes in 2013. He stands as a symbol for the grave restrictions on freedom of the press and freedom of opinion and the massive violence against media professionals.

The award, which was jointly initiated by Ensaf Haidar, Raif Badawi’s wife, and prominent German TV news presenter Constantin Schreiber, honours journalists or organisations and focuses on human rights violations. At the same time it aims to keep Raif Badawi’s case in the public consciousness.

An independent jury of high-ranking media representatives will choose this year’s winner.

Please support our efforts to promote a free press and free journalism by nominating a journalist or organization for the award.

The nomination should include the following:

a) Justification

Please explain, on no more than one page, why the person or organization should receive the award; describe the quality and relevance of their journalistic work; and specify how they promote independent and professional journalism.

b) Resume of the nominee or brief description of the nominated organization

c) Links to relevant articles or publications (in the original language)

Please note that only complete submissions will be considered.

For more information about the award, visit our website at

Please send us your nomination(s), in German or in English, by no later than 
15th June 2020 to


Für die deutsche Version klicken Sie bitte hier. 

For the arabic version please click here.

For the french version please click here.