Call for nomination - Raif Badawi Award 2018

Who will receive the award this year?
Auch 2018 wird der Raif Badawi Award wieder verliehen? Nominieren Sie Ihren Favoriten.
The annual Raif Badawi Award for Courageous Journalists. Nominate your candidate! © Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit

The situation of independent journalists and media continues to deteriorate around the world. Targeted killings of journalists in Mexico and court cases in Turkey are commonplace. Even within the EU investigative journalism can be life-threatening as demonstrated by the recent murders of journalists in Malta and Slovakia. Therefore, the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom, as part of its global efforts in support of independent journalism, will again award the annual Raif Badawi Award for Courageous Journalists at this year’s Frankfurt Book Fair.

In collaboration with the German Publishers and Booksellers Association, we particularly aim to draw attention to the difficult conditions under which media representatives work in many Islamic societies.

In reaction to emergent democratic impulses in recent years, authoritarian regimes in the Middle East and North Africa are systematically and ruthlessly undermining independent journalism. Elsewhere, free journalism is curtailed so as to avoid religious offense. The case of liberal Saudi blogger Raif Badawi, who was sentenced to ten years imprisonment and 1,000 lashes, exemplifies these developments. Many others have shared his fate since then.

The award, which does not involve monetary value, recognises professional and courageous journalists or media organisations from predominantly Muslim countries. At the same time, the award, which was jointly initiated by Ensaf Haidar, Raif Badawi’s wife, and prominent German tv news presenter Constantin Schreiber, serves to keep Raif Badawi in the public consciousness.

An independent jury of high-ranking media representatives will choose this year’s winner. This year's jury includes:

Ensaf Haidar, president Raif Badawi Foundation for Freedom
Andreas Cichowicz, editor in chief at NDR
Daniel Fiedler, head of 2Kultur Berlin at ZDF
Astrid Frefel, correspondent in Cairo
Florian Harms, editor in chief at T-online
Philipp Jessen, CEO Storymachine
Alexander Krei, editor at
David Schraven, Publisher and head of content at Correctiv
Jochen Wegner, editor in chief at ZEIT ONLINE

Please support our efforts to promote a free press and free journalism by nominating a journalist or organisation for the award.

The nomination should include the following:

a) Justification

Please explain, on no more than one page, why the person or organisation should receive the award; describe the quality and relevance of their journalistic work; and specify how they promote independent and professional journalism.

b) Resume of the nominee or brief description of the nominated organisation

c) Links to relevant articles or publications (in the original language)

Please note that only complete submissions will be considered.

For more information about the award, visit our website at

Please send us your nomination(s), in German or in English, by no later than 1st June 2018 to