Raif Badawi Award 2021
Award ceremony of the Raif Badawi Award 2021 to the Turkish journalist Alican Uludağ

On October 20, 2021, Turkish journalist Alican Uludağ have received the Raif Badawi Award, which the Friedrich Naumann Foundation, together with the German Publishers and Booksellers Association, presents annually to outstanding, courageous journalists.
Raif Badawi Award for courageous journalists 2021
Raif Badawi Award for courageous journalists 2021

At this point you will find an external content that complements the content. You can display it with one click.

At a time when independent journalism is under severe pressure in Turkey, Alican Uludağ`s investigative reporting makes an important contribution to protecting the right to information. Alican Uludağ is a highly respected correspondent who covers cases at the Court of Cassation and the Constitutional Court. He regularly exposes corruption and researches the work of law enforcement and security services. Between 2008 and October 2020, he worked as a court reporter for the Cumhuriyet daily newspaper. His reporting has made him a target of pro-government media and the AKP-led government. "He has stood out as a courageous reporter in a difficult to hostile environment, standing for freedom of speech, truth and righteousness. His investigative work is characterized by a constant search for robust evidence. He is fearless and takes great risks in his research," the jury statement reads.

Alican Uludağ has been awarded various prizes for his work, such as the 2020 prize for "Political Reporting" at the Turkey Journalism Awards of the Turkish Journalists' Association (TGC) for a series of reports that exposed the power struggle between the Turkish justice minister and other parts of the judiciary.

Due to the Corona pandemic, the award again cannot be presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair this year. The ceremony will take place virtually at 5 p.m. on Oct. 20. The laudation will be delivered by EU Commission Vice President and Commissioner for Transparency and Values Vĕra Jourová. TV-anchorman and editor of Raif Badawi's texts in German, Constantin Schreiber, will moderate the award ceremony.

Streaming link to the virtual award ceremony

About the Raif Badawi Award

The Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom, together with the German Publishers and Booksellers Association, will present the Raif Badawi Award for Courageous Journalists for the seventh time in 2021. The journalism award, initiated by Badawi's wife Ensaf Haidar and TV-anchorman Constantin Schreiber, is intended to commemorate the imprisoned Saudi blogger Raif Badawi, who was sentenced in 2012 to 1,000 lashes and ten years in prison for his Islam-critical texts.

About the jury

An independent jury of high-ranking media representatives selected this year's winner:

Andreas Cichowicz is a German television journalist and editor-in-chief of television at NDR. He is also the presenter of the foreign magazine "Weltspiegel."

Astrid Frefel is a freelance journalist based in Cairo. She has been writing about the Arab world since 1999, mainly for media in Switzerland and Austria.

Dr. Florian Harms is a German journalist and book author. He has been editor-in-chief of Germany's largest news website, t-online.de, in Berlin since 2017.

Ensaf Haidar is the wife of Saudi writer, dissident and activist Raif Badawi. She is active as a human rights activist in exile in Canada.

David Schraven is a German journalist and founder of the non-profit research center CORRECTIV, which he heads as publisher and content director.

Der türkische Journalist Alican Uludağ erhält am 20. Oktober 2021 den Raif Badawi Award, den die Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels jährlich an herausragende, mutige Journalisten vergibt.
© Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit

Wegen der Corona-Pandemie kann der Preis auch in diesem Jahr nicht auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse verliehen werden. Die Zeremonie erfolgt am 20. Oktober um 17 Uhr virtuell, die Laudatio wird die Vizepräsidentin der EU-Kommission und Kommissarin für Transparenz und Werte, Vĕra Jourová, halten. ARD Tagesschau-Sprecher und Herausgeber der Texte Raif Badawis in Deutsch, Constantin Schreiber, wird die Preisverleihung moderieren.

Die virtuelle Preisverleihung können Sie hier sehen

Zum Raif Badawi Award

Die Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit verleiht zusammen mit dem Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels 2021 zum siebte Mal den Raif Badawi Award for Courageous Journalists. Der Journalistenpreis, initiiert von Badawis Ehefrau Ensaf Haidar und TV-Moderator Constantin Schreiber, soll an den inhaftierten saudischen Blogger Raif Badawi erinnern, der wegen seiner islamkritischen Texte zu 1.000 Peitschenhieben und zehn Jahren Haft verurteilt wurde.

Zur Jury

Eine unabhängige Jury aus hochrangigen Medienvertretern wählte den diesjährigen Gewinner:

Andreas Cichowicz ist deutscher Fernsehjournalist und Chefredakteur Fernsehen beim NDR. Außerdem ist er Moderator des Auslandsmagazins "Weltspiegel".

Astrid Frefel ist freie Journalistin in Kairo. Sie schreibt seit 1999 über die arabische Welt, hauptsächlich für Medien in der Schweiz und Österreich.

Dr. Florian Harms ist ein deutscher Journalist und Buchautor. Seit 2017 ist er Chefredakteur von Deutschlands größter Nachrichten-Website t-online.de in Berlin.

Ensaf Haidar ist die Ehefrau des saudischen Schriftstellers, Dissidenten und Aktivisten Raif Badawi. Sie ist als Menschenrechtsaktivistin im kanadischen Exil aktiv.

David Schraven ist ein deutscher Journalist und Gründer des gemeinnützigen Recherchezentrums CORRECTIV, das er als Publisher und inhaltlicher Geschäftsführer leitet.